Frequently Asked Questions
Please feel free to contact us info at lax-van-rentals.com if you have any questions or concerns.

 Rental Requirements, Terms and Conditions:

 Insurance  | Requirements  | Pick up & Drop off | Payment & Deposit | DiscountMileage |  Cancelation

  • Driver License:

    Valid regular driver’s licenses issued in your state or country is acceptable (written in the Roman alphabet) as well as international licenses. Just make sure your driver's license is valid and is not expired. Non-U.S. residents are required to show a valid driver’s license and a passport from their home country. If the information on your driver’s license is not written in the Roman alphabet, you must also present an International Driving Permit. For more information you can check California DMV website at www.dmv.ca.gov
    The renter needs to be at least 21 years old and recommended to have a minimum of five years of driving experience

  • Do I need insurance for van rental in Los Angeles?
    Yes, insurance is required by California state law. All authorized drivers must have proper liability insurance that can be transferred and used for the rental vehicle. We offer Liability Insurance by third party, and Collision Damage Waiver (CDW). Liability insurance is required by law in California and you should have it to drive any vehicle. CDW only covers the van. If you don’t have it, you would be responsible for the entire cost of damage to the van. The credit card insurance usually does not cover passenger vans. You can purchase both insurances for your rental provided by third party agent and will be activated by $1000 deductive.
    Resident of United States should have proof of insurance coverage consisting of liability, comprehensive and collision coverage that can be transferred to our rental vehicle. You may check with your insurance agent to add comprehensive and collision coverage or increase your insurance coverage. Renter will be responsible for all damages caused by a non authorized driver.

    What is Liability Insurance Coverage?
    The liability insurance protects all authorized drivers against third-party bodily injury and property-damage claims for which drivers are legally liable. Another word it provides coverage in the event of an accident causing bodily injury to someone other than the renter and passengers.

  • What is CDW (Collision Damage Waiver)?
    Regardless of fault, renter is responsible for loss or damage to the rental vehicle resulting from collision or vandalism, unless you purchase this protection. C.D.W. coverage eliminates your financial responsibility for damage to the vehicle but you and your own insurance are still responsible for $1000 deductible. The policy does NOT cover any damage or theft of personal belongings which occurs during your rental.

  • Can I use my Credit card car rental insurance?
    Most credit card companies such as Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover provide rental car insurance however their policy does not cover 12 & 15 passenger van rental and they exclude vans with more than 8 seat or passenger. Before relying on your credit card on coverage, please contact your credit card company.

  • What are your age requirements?
    You have to be at least 21 years old with five years of driving experienc to rent a van.
    If you are a visitor or tourist in California over 21 and you have a valid driver license from your home state or country, you may drive in this state without getting a California driver license as long as your home state license remains valid.

  • What is Personal Accident Insurance (PAI)?
    PAI provides renter with coverage for medical expenses or loss of life while in the rental vehicle by third party, The renter is covered during the rental for the following: $1,750 medical coverage for injuries due to an accident, $300 for ambulance expenses. We do not offer this coverage.

  • Requirements for Passenger Vans:
    The age requirements is 21 years old and over with some driving experience. If the van is to be used for hire or profit or any other group, all drivers of the van must have required license and comply with local, state and Federal laws.
    • Driver License and Credit/Debit Card (names must match)
    • Minimum $300 security deposit above expected rental charge.

    School & Universities:
    Bus Safety Federal Standards for schools do not allow passenger vans to be used for transportation of children in the twelfth grade or younger.Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) and passenger transport endorsement are required for employees of schools to operate passenger vans and follow the Public Contract Code.


Services:     Pick up & Drop Off - Seats:

  • Do you pick up and drop off customers at LAX?
    If you are flying into LAX airport, once you are ready outside terminal curbside, please contact us at 888-840-1198
    For the return, call us one hour in advance in working hours. You can drop off the van at our parking lot  10020 Condon Ave, Inglewood 90304

    If you get Uber or Lyft from/to LAX airport, you will get reimbursed up to $20 for the ride cost to 4700 W century Blvd, Inglewood, CA 90304. 

  • Do you deliver and pick up the vehicle?
    Yes, upon request we can deliver or collect specefic vehicle at your home, hotel or other places. Pick up or drop off fees may apply. 

  • Do you deliver the van at the hotels?
    Yes, we do deliver the van to the hotels but the customer needs to be present to sign the rental agreement. There is some additional drop off fee if we deliver or pick up the van to the hotel outside LAX area.

  • Can you remove the last row seats to accommodate luggage?
    Yes, when we remove the last row seats, a 15 passenger van E350 will have seats only for 11 people (10 passengers and driver) and some luggage space. Please mention to us in the comment section when making your reservation online. There will be $25 charge for the seat removal. On transit van we can only remove two middle seats of the last row. 


Method of payment:


  • What forms of payment do you accept?
    You can pay the rental fee by cash, check, credit card, debit card, Paypal, however we must have a valid credit/debit card in our file.

  • Can I use another person’s credit card for renting a vehicle?
    The card holder should present themselves with proper ID to sign the rental contract. For school group or business card, we may send you an authorization form prior to the rental pick up and needs managment approval. 




  • Do I need a deposit when I make the reservation?
    Yes, a deposit is required for security purposes. In order to secure your reservation, we autorize your debit or credit card minimum of $300 two weeks prior to your pick up date. The amount of the requested deposit will be returned to you if you cancel the reservation two week before the pick up date.

  • How much is the deposit?
    The deposits is based on the type of vehicle and debit/credit card but usually we authorize minimum of $300 and it will be released upon return the vehicle after 7 to 15 business days. If you return the van and we have not released your hold after 30 days please contact us. 


Type of vehicles:


  • What type of cars do you have?
    We have the different models of 12 & 15 passenger van, minivan, luxury high top van, cargo van and up to 15 passenger van E350 Ford Econoline.

  • Do you have automatic or stick shift cars?
    All of our vehicles are automatic.

  • What is the difference between Ford E350 and Transit van?
    Ford passenger van E350 was the top selling full size passenger van in USA and has reached the end of its life after almost 50 years of great service. The heavy duty Econoline E350 is an 8 Cylinder vehicle with 4 row seats. The modernized Ford passenger van, Transit wagon (15 passenger transit van and 12 passenger transit van) in three height (Low – Medium and High roof) were introduced in 2015 with many new options and individual seats/headrest. 

  • Do you have air conditioned vehicles?
    Yes, all our vans have air conditioning A/C front & rear.

  • Do you rent cars by the hour?
    No, the minimum rental would be for two to three days, please contact us for the availability of the vehicle.

  • Do you allow pets inside the van?
    Please note that our van rental service maintains a strict no-pet policy to ensure the cleanliness and allergy-free environment of our vehicles, we do apologize for any inconvenience.



  • Do you offer accessories with your rentals?
    Yes, we do have accessories that can be rented with the vehicles. The accessories are GPS navigation system,WiFi Internet, child and toddler seat.

  • Do you offer WiFi Internet access with your vehicles?
    Yes, stay connected while traveling in USA with our unlimited portable wifi, unlimited international and domestic texting and unlimited of domestic talk. It requires an unlocked, GSM-compatible phone and provides both international and domestic travelers with all the digital support needed when traveling in our vehicles. Onboard portable WiFi allows you to use many devices such as your laptop, tablet, or mobile device up to 10 GB of 3G LTE data then slower data at 2G speed while you travel. 

  • WiFi at LAX airport:
    LAX airport offers unlimited free Wi-Fi (45-minute sessions) in the public areas of all arrival & departure terminals. 

  • Do you rent the passenger van with towing hitch or trailer?
    No, we do not rent the trailer but we can provide you a passenger van with towing receiver and hitch.
    If it is absolutely necessary to tow a trailer with such a passenger van, no more than one passenger (to assist driver) should be onboard the van.

  • Child and infant seat:
    California and other states require child safety seats for infants and children less than 8 years old and under 4 feet 9 inches tall.
    For 8 to 12 years, you can use booster seat until they are big enough to fit in a seat belt properly.
    If you rent a vehicle and you have child as a passenger who is under 4 feet 9 inches tall and under the age of eight years, they should be restrained in an appropriate child restraint system in the back seat of the car. Never leave a child six years of age or younger unattended in a car, once you reach your destination, unless there is someone who is at least 12 years old to supervise. 


Additional charges:

We do not have sneaky surcharges or hidden fees. If you get the vehicles from a different partner’s location, you may get charged for tax, VLF and other fees.

  • Is there an additional charge for more than one driver?
    Yes, additional charges apply when rental vehicle is to be driven by more than one person. If a renter wants to add an additional driver, the second driver must be 25 or older and present their valid driver’s license and credit card.
    Your spouse automatically is an authorized driver if (s)he has a valid drivers license and meets the age restrictions.
    Upon pick up the vehicl, you can add an additional driver to the rental contract.

  • Do you charge VLF/VLRF?
    No, we do not. It is common practice to charge vehicle license recovery fee to register the fleet for DMV. We do have only one service fee.

  • What about the Cleaning Fee?
    All of our vehicles are non-smoking and regulary clean.
    Upon the return, if it is determined that the vehicle should be cleaned of tobacco odor, pet hair, excessively dirty, stain and residue (cigarette burns, ash/butts inside the vehicle), the renter will be charged up to $500 cleaning fee.

  • Is there an additional charge for fuel?
    Fuel must be brought back the same way it was given to you. The fuel tank usually is full and you are expected to return it full. The refueling charge of $35 plus fuel cost will apply if the vehicle is returned with less gas than when you picked up the van.

  • Should I pay ahead of time for a full tank of fuel ?
    No, but we offer the option of paying for a full tank of fuel, prior to your pick up date. That way you do not have to worry about topping the tank off before you return the car.

  • What is the pre-paid or upfront fuel option?
    You can save time, make drop-off a breeze, and avoid additional fees by adding upfront fuel option to your rental, which allows you to return our vans at any fuel level and avoid any extra charges. 
    Price includes up to a full tank of gas.

  • What if I get a traffic, parking or toll ticket?
    You are responsible for traffic tickets and if we pay that we will charge you $35 admin fee or 20% additional service fee.
    Renter is responsible for any driving or parking ticket and toll road violation during the rental period. The renter must pay the toll fees before entering the toll roads, crossing or bridges. If we receive toll evasion notice, it will be paid immediately and an admin fee of $15 will be added to the original violation amount.
    Visitors and renters can pay tolls within 5 days before or after driving The Toll Roads by using the One-Time-Toll payment option found at TheTollRoads.com

  • Is there an additional charge for underage?
    Yes, it only applies to customers that are 21-24 years old for minivan, for full size van the renter should be at least 25 years old.

  • What is Carpool Lanes and Toll Roads?
    Carpool lane is a restricted traffic lane for exclusive use of vehicles with a driver and one or more passengers. So if you rent a passenger van with at least 2 or 3 occupants you can use carpool lanes. Violators may subject to a minimum $481 fine or ticket.

  • The Toll Roads (pay to drive): There are some roads and bridges that you should pay tolls. Some toll roads can be avoided by driving other routes.
    If you drive our vehicles on The Toll Roads , you will be charged for all tolls plus a Toll Pass charge of $14 per whole rental.
    For out of state toll roads, to avoid paying fees or fines carry US cash to pay toll if they do not accept credit cards. You can also pay your tolls by using the One-Time-Toll® payment option. (One-Time-Toll must be used within five days)

Out-of-state & Speed Limit:


  • Is my driver's license good in every state?
    If you have a valid license issued in your state or country, you may use it in other states that you visit. However vehicles can only be within California and Nevada, Arizona and Utah. Please contact us if you plan to drive to other states.

  • Can I cross international borders and drive to Mexico or Canada?
    Driving is restricted to the Continental United States and vehicles must remain in USA, however you can contact us in advance for specific requirements, additional insurance and management approval to travel to Mexico or Canada.

  • How much is the national speed limit?
    In most California’s freeways the speed limit is 65 miles/hour (or 105 Km/Hr).
    Please do not drive over speed limit or 65 miles per hour, whichever is lower.


Monthly Special & Discounts:


  • If I rent a passenger van for a month can I get a special rate and discount price?
    Yes, all vans can be rented by the month and receive a special offer.

  • Do you have AAA club, travel agencies or airport employee’s discounts?
    Yes, we offer discounts to members of any one of these associations. Advance reservations are required and must include the promotion code or your AAA Club Discount Code

  • Do you offer coupons?
    Yes we do, you can print it out from the web site when available. For group promotions and  discount code for lax van rental in Los Angels check our discount page.

  • Do you offer military personnel discount?
    Yes, Active-duty US military personnel with proper valid ID or US Armed Forces identification cards with minimum 5 days booking can get 10% discount.

    Returning vehicles

  • If I have a flight leaving during your closing hours, is there anywhere I can leave your vehicle?
    Yes, we have 24 hrs drop off service in LAX Parking. Please park the van inside (or in front of) our Parking at 10019 Condon Ave, Inglewood, CA 90304, lock the doors and leave the key in drop box on the gate. For after hour, If you need ride back to the airport, you can take ride sharing Uber/Lyft services and we will reimburse you (up to $25) for the cost. 

  • Can I return the rental van early?
    Sure, if you want to return your vehicle early, you will not receive any refund for unused portions of your reservation and we do not charge you extra fees for breaking the rental agreement. If you are getting a special weekly rate, returning the vehicle early may change your discounted rate.


Free Miles:

  • How many miles do I get per day?
    Our fleet rental including passenger and cargo van include 150  free miles per day depends on vehicle types and the model. Any additional miles will be charged at the rate of 45 to 50 Cents per mile. Our vehicles are restricted to drive in California, Arizona and Nevada.

Damages and Mechanical Issues:


Emergency Roadside Assistance is available 24/7—just call us first 888-840-1198 upon approval, please call 855-866-3161 at any time, and a representative will dispatch a roadside service professional right away. 
You will need to provide your Policy Number as well as the Year, Make, Model and VIN # of the vehicle.

  • What if I get a flat tire?
    We inspect all vehicles in our fleet regularly and make sure the tires are fit for long distance driving. If you get a flat tire, you are responsible for repairing the flat or replacing the tire and any damage to the van as result of a flat or blown tire. You may change the spare tire yourself or talk to a local tow company.

  • What if the van does not get started?
    We inspect the batteries frequently however make sure all the lights are off before you leave the van. People sometimes leave the lights on and that causes battery failure. Please use battery jumper or contact a local roadside assistance for help.

  • What if the van gets a mechanical issue?
    We have inspection requirements to check the fleet vehicles and follow general safety standards. If you are in Los Angeles area and the van gets a mechanical failure we will do our best to replace the van. If you are out of Los Angeles area, we will help you to find a local shop or vehicle dealer to repair it. Call our toll free number 888-840-1198 for the arrangements.

  • What if the van gets damaged?
    You or your insurance are responsible for cost of repair plus loss of use. If you purchase Collision Damage Waiver, CDW will eliminate your financial responsibility for the damage to our vehicle with $1000 deductible.


 Cancellation Policy: 

  • Cancellation fee?
    You may cancel your reservation without any charges all the way up to 10 days prior to your scheduled pick up date, however if you cancel your reservation within 10 days to your reservation, there will be 50% of total or the minimum $300, charge as a cancellation fee. For one way rental, long weekend, holidays and Christmas there is minimum $500 cancellation fee.  The Failure to notify us of any cancellations either by email or by a simple phone call, or No-show at the pick-up location (up to 2 hrs late), will result into collection of the total rental fee from the responsible party credit card.
  • How do I cancel my reservation?
    Reservations made through this website can be cancelled by entering your email address and the confirmation code in Reservation page or contacting us by email info@lax-van-rentals.com.

  • To read the entire terms & conditions, please check the Rental Agreement

Here are some more useful websites:

If you have any further questions please contact us by email at info@lax-van-rentals.com or call our toll-free 888-840-1198